Blogging, Humor

What Your Tag Line May Be Saying About You

May I ask you a very personal question?

Do you have a tag line for your blog? It’s usually under the title and offers a brief glimpse into the mind of the blogger. I know I’m being forward but I really want to know. I’ve been reading that, if not properly researched and street-tested, your tag line could be dragging you down.

I don’t want to be a droopy sock so I took to the Internet recently to conduct a wildly unscientific and heavily-biased poll.

The results surprised me. There are some creative people out there, with interesting tag lines. They just need a little tweaking.

Subject Blog A:

Tag line: I do it for chew

You just had to pick pink. Do you even know me at all?
You just had to pick pink. Do you even know me at all?

The blog was covered with tiny smiley hearts and an overly enthusiastic use of sweetheart-rose pink. When I first saw this tag line, I thought I’d come across a blogger with a speech impediment, writing about romance. After all, one of the most touted tips on writing is write how you speak.

Was I wrong to assume this blogger had a lisp?

Turns out the blog was about their English bulldog and his chew toy collection.

Subject Blog B:

Tag line: my life, from the rear

One guess as to what this blog is about. If you guessed a retrospective of this blogger’s life, you’d be not totally cold. More glacial really. This blogger chose a photo blog…of other people wearing jeans. Not her rear end in jeans but complete strangers. I’m all for walking into the propeller of sarcasm, but if you’re going to photo-blog people and their muffin-top moments, don’t sugar coat it. Put it right in your tag line.

Subject Blog C:

Tag line: I angst, and God answered

God says thank you for your donation...and make sure you round up when you sign that check.
God says thank you for your donation…and make sure you round up when you sign that check.

As an atheist, I almost passed this blog by. If you want a broader audience (and the chance to convert the damned) consider relocating God to your sidebar. I know you’re supposed to put your god before all others but if he exists and is anything like his press, he won’t mind.

I also don’t think bitching about people who eat meat qualifies as angst. If there was a god and he didn’t want us eating meat, he would have made lettuce taste like chicken.

Subject Blog D:

Tag line: musings about my mother

This is not the face of a happy Mom.
This is not the face of a happy Mom.

If there’s one topic that gets more attention among bloggers than mothers, I’ve yet to find it. Well, maybe kids. But the blogs about kids I found all had cute tag lines so I gave them a pass. Blogs about Mom? We all have issues with our parents and sometimes we have to write about them. If for no other reason than ranting so we don’t do something extreme that’s brought up and discussed to death at every family gathering.

But to dedicate all your posts to the good, bad, and ugly about Mom? Unless she’s totally senile and doesn’t know what a blog is, she’s probably got a blog of her own and the last thing you want is for her to focus her attention on you…like writing about the series of slackers you’ve been dating recently.

Subject Blog E:

Tag line: because being a quirky, sarcastic, irreverent introvert has its advantages

This blogger got it almost right. Although her current blog header seems to be saying something about butt selfies, and she’s a little overly fond of the ellipsis in her posts. A liberal arts blogger, she writes about anything and everything…paying attention to even the most mundane subjects.

Like tag lines on blogs.

Do you have a tag line? And what does it say about you?

18 thoughts on “What Your Tag Line May Be Saying About You”

  1. I didn’t think I had one of those. I checked my blog, and the only thing under my header is “just another WordPress.com site” I’m not sure I ever noticed it before, but the words”just another” certainly don’t qualify as a ringing endorsement. Maybe I’ll go change it. I’m thinking of using “NOT just another WordPress.com site, bitches!”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wanted to change my tagline a couple of years ago. I wrote a post about it and several people said they liked it. And I got a few good suggestions for something new. Then I realized it was embedded into my header graphic and I no longer had the original header photo which I wanted to keep. So I guess it will drag me down forever!

    Like

    1. Curses. Isn’t that always the way? With today’s technology, digital photography makes it so very easy to hit “delete” then run around screaming when we realize there’s no going back. *makes “The Scream” face*

      Like

  3. I came up with mine on a whim, mainly because another blogger suggested I start “branding” my blog. So I thought…hm…how do I describe myself in a few words? Well, I love coffee. And I’m currently wearing a plaid shirt….and I am a girl so….yeah! I guess it’s a good tag line. I don’t really like it now but I am forever stuck with it.

    Like

    1. It’s a very good tag line. But “branding” is so yesterday. If you want to change it up, do it. Unless you’re making money from your blog, constant change is good. Keeps us young. Keeps ’em guessing.

      I’ll shut up now.

      Liked by 1 person

Here's where you use your words.

